PTI takes LA-III seat in Azad Jammu Kashmir

Written by  Published by:Pakistan Views Monday, 30 March 2015 06:22

MIRPUR: Voting got underway on Sunday in Mirpur city of Azad Jammu and Kashmir for by-election on Legislative Assembly seat, LA-III, according to sources.

A total of 10 candidates belonging to various political parties and two independent candidates are in run for the seat.

The contest is mainly between PPP’s Chaudhry Ashraf, PTI’s Barrister Sultan Mahmood and an independent candidate Ejaz Raza.

PML-N candidate Arshad Mahmood Ghazi withdrew in favor of Chaudhry Muhammad Ashraf.

Rangers have been called in to assist the local civil administration to maintain peaceful environment on the day of polling.

AJK Election Commission has warned that if any of the candidate or their supporter was found involved in creating disturbance, the concerned candidate would be disqualified.

The seat had become vacant after the former AJK Prime Minister and sitting Member of the AJK Legislative Assembly Barrister Sultan Mahmood Chaudhry had resigned from the Assembly seat, leaving the ruling PPP fold to join Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

Rating: 5 Read 462 times

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.

Pakistan Views - National & International News Portal (Pakistan Views) stands as a website enlightening the masses with all information related to current affair, entertainment, sports, technology, etc. It has been brought into existence to ensure that voice of Pakistan reaches the masses. Ensuring that a true picture of Pakistan is portrayed in the right manner to the world. The website is to bring forth the real picture of Pakistan negating avenues of Terrorism and Non-State Actor.