PP-196: PML-N Substantial Win in By-Election

Written by  Published by:Pakistan Views Friday, 22 May 2015 09:25

MULTAN: PML-N candidate Rana Mehmoodul Hassan beats Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Rana Abdul Jabbar in the by-election of PP-196 on Thursday.

According to unofficial results, Mr Hassan secured 28,324 votes, Mr Jabbar bagged 18,112 votes, while the PPP candidate Muhammad Hussain Arain could get only 6,519 votes.

Polling was overall held in a peaceful atmosphere, with minor disruptions in the process at some booths, following exchange of words between the supporters of PML-N and PTI candidates.

The district government had announced a local holiday in connection with the by-poll.

The seat was vacated by provincial prisons minister Abdul Waheed Arain who was disqualified by a local election tribunal for possessing two national identity cards.

Supreme Court had rejected Mr Waheed’s appeal challenging his disqualification.

The Election Commission of Pakistan established 133 polling stations and 394 polling booths. The total number of voters in the constituency is 178,000.

Rating: 5 Read 222 times

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.

Pakistan Views - National & International News Portal

Pakistanviews.org (Pakistan Views) stands as a website enlightening the masses with all information related to current affair, entertainment, sports, technology, etc. It has been brought into existence to ensure that voice of Pakistan reaches the masses. Ensuring that a true picture of Pakistan is portrayed in the right manner to the world. The website is to bring forth the real picture of Pakistan negating avenues of Terrorism and Non-State Actor.