Sindh’s election commission (Senate) starts scrutiny of nomination forms

Written by  Published by:Pakistan Views Friday, 20 February 2015 09:55

KARACHI: The provincial election commission has started the scrutiny of nomination forms filed by candidates contesting in the Senate elections. Around nineteen forms have been accepted so far out of a total 28 submitted to the commission. 

The commission raised objections over five forms belonging to members of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), claiming they were incomplete and asked the candidates to fufil the requirement.

PPP’s Rehman Malik, Saleem Mandviwala, Gianchand, Farooq H Naeq, Shama Mithani, Sarfaraz Rajar, and Sassui Palijo are among candidates who are now entitled to contest the elections. Meanwhile, from the MQM – Babar Ghauri, Muhammad Ali Saif, Ameenul Haq, Khushbakhat Shujaat, Gul Faraz Khan Khattak, Wasim Akhtar and Nighat Mirza’s forms were accepted.

According to sources, Pakistan Muslim League-Functional’s Imamduddin Shaukeen and Muhammad Bux Khaskheli’s forms have also been accepted. Objection was raised over the forms of Islamuddin Shaikh, PPP’s Abdul Latif Ansari and Mian Ateeq, Seema Zareen and Tehseen Mashkoor Abidi.

While talking to The Media, the provincial election commissioner SM Tariq Qadri said that this process would continue till Friday evening.

According to election commission records, around 13 forms have been filed by candidates from the PPP, 12 by those of the MQM, two by PML-F and one by Paksitan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N).

After the scrutiny process, there will be a filing of appeals against forms that were rejected. This will be held from February 23 to February 24.

Dates for the disposal of the appeal have been fixed from February 26 to February 27. The last date for the withdrawal of the candidature is February 28 and the final list of the candidates will be published on the same day. Polling will then take place on March 5.

Candidates from the PPP who have received the party ticket to contest the election are: Rehman Malik, Farooq H Naek, Islamuddin Shaikh, Saleem Mandiviwala, Sassui Palijo, Ghianchand and Abdul Latif Ansari. MQM has given tickets to Barrister Saif, Mian Ateeq, Babar Ghauri and Nighat Khatoon.  Simialrly, PML-F has given the party ticket to Imamuddin Shaukeen.  Meanwhile, Zafar Ali Shah is the PML-N candidate.

Rating: 5 Read 236 times

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.

Pakistan Views - National & International News Portal (Pakistan Views) stands as a website enlightening the masses with all information related to current affair, entertainment, sports, technology, etc. It has been brought into existence to ensure that voice of Pakistan reaches the masses. Ensuring that a true picture of Pakistan is portrayed in the right manner to the world. The website is to bring forth the real picture of Pakistan negating avenues of Terrorism and Non-State Actor.