Clash of the Titans | Pak India Face off Today at Eden Garden

Written by  Published by:Pakistan Views Saturday, 19 March 2016 15:08

KOLKATA: Host India is set to face off arch rival Pakistan in the seventh match of Super 10 round of ICC World T20 2016 on Saturday (Today) at Eden Gardens Cricket Stadium, Kolkata.

The match will start at 7:30pm (Indian Standard Time), 2:00pm (GMT) and 7:00pm (Pakistan Standard Time).

It is the much anticipated match of the World T20 Cup where it is always viewed by fans as a treat and often one bigger than the final match of the series.

To begin the day there were heavy rains and at one point media reports suggested, the clash may be marred by rain. However as the day progressed the clouds dissipated and sun came out shining. The Indian MET department has forecast intermittent rain and thunder for Saturday but with five hours to go before the toss, chances for the match to be rained out appear slim.

Eden Gardens Kolkata, the largest Indian cricket stadium and the second largest in the world after the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Australia, has certainly been a happy hunting ground for the Pakistani cricketers who have won all their previous ODIs at this ground against India, West Indies and Bangladesh, but had lost one against Sri Lanka on May 27, 1997 by 85 runs.

The green-shirts have also remained unbeatable against India in limited overs cricket at this venue.

The venue for the clash was shifted to Kolkata from Dharmasala due to security reasons after Hindu extremist groups threaten to dig-up the pitch if Pakistan play there.

Pakistan women’s cricket captain Sana Mir won the toss and opted to bowl first in the ICC Women’s World T20 encounter against India at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi on Saturday.

Mir explained her decision, saying she didn’t expect the pitch to change too much and she would like to know the kind of total her team would be chasing.

Mir’s Indian counterpart Mithali Raj said her batters were in good form and she would like to capitalise on that.

India are fielding an unchanged team from the one that won the opener against Bangladesh.

Pakistan, however, lost a close opener to West Indies by four runs. The Pakistan women, therefore, need a win to stay alive in the tournament.

Mens Squad


MS Dhoni (c), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shikhar Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Mohammed Shami, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh


Shahid Afridi (c), Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Babr Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khalid Lateef, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Ahmad Shehzad, Mohammad Sami

Womens Squad


Mithali Raj (captain), Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Smriti Mandhana, Shikha Pandey, Anuja Patil, Poonam Yadav, Deepti Sharma, Vellaswamy Vanitha, Sushma Verma (wicketkeeper)


Sana Mir (captain), Anam Amin, Asmavia Iqbal, Bismah Maroof, Iram Javed, Muneeba Ali, Nahida Khan, Nida Dar, Sadia Yousuf, Sidra Ameen, Sidra Nawaz (wicketkeeper)

Rating: 5 Read 456 times

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.

Pakistan Views - National & International News Portal (Pakistan Views) stands as a website enlightening the masses with all information related to current affair, entertainment, sports, technology, etc. It has been brought into existence to ensure that voice of Pakistan reaches the masses. Ensuring that a true picture of Pakistan is portrayed in the right manner to the world. The website is to bring forth the real picture of Pakistan negating avenues of Terrorism and Non-State Actor.